At The Scheherazade Foundation, we believe that in order to recalibrate society for the future, we do well to draw inspiration from those who have pioneered change with their vision, determination, and selflessness.

The Scheherazade Foundation makes Gold Medal Awards both to living people from all backgrounds and walks of life, as well as posthumously, to individuals who have led by their extraordinary and outstanding example.

Crafted by Thomas Fattorini, medal makers to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, the awards are octagonal gilded ormolu medallions, presented with a suspension ribbon.

Nominees are selected by a panel of youth hailing from six continents. In most cases, the awards are presented without great fanfare, but rather through a low-key private presentation.

Recipients of The Scheherazade Foundation Gold Medal Awards include:

His Holiness the Dalai Lama

Mother Teresa of Calcutta

HRH Prince Hassan bin Talal of Jordan

Sir David Attenborough

Doris Lessing

Jorge Luis Borges

Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Nelson Mandela

Annie Leibovitz

Bernardo Bertolucci

Steve McCurry

Luciano Pavarotti

Emmanuelle Charpentier

Isabel Allende

Sir Michael Palin

Paulo Coelho & Christina Oiticica

Emmeline Pankhurst

Stephen Fry

Maya Angelou

Joan Baez

Graça Machel